# MINUTES MAC Business Meeting October 30, 2018 Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City, MD

The meeting was called to order by Julie Silverman, Chair, at 8:05 a.m.

#### **Executive Board Members Present:**

Julie Silverman, Chair; Wanda Whitney, Past Chair; Tony Nguyen, Chair Elect; Layla Heimlich, Treasurer; Jamie Conklin, Secretary; Jeff Coghill, MLA Chapter Council Representative Alternate; Lynn Eades, Archivist

#### Welcome

Julie Silverman congratulated and thanked Annual Meeting Co-Chairs Ashley Cuffia and Emilie Ludeman. We had 84 attendees at the conference.

Brian McDonald moved and Ashley Cuffia seconded approval of the minutes as submitted for 10/24/17 MAC Business Meeting with no corrections. Motion carried.

# Chair's Report (Julie Silverman)

Financial update: MAC has a healthy budget with approximately \$65,000 in the bank.

Project updates: The Diversity Taskforce is moving to an official committee, and members are encouraged to volunteer. The Communications committee has done a great job with the website update and setting up the blog as a communication channel. There were some hiccups with blog notifications, so Wild Apricot was used to send urgent messages to membership. This hiccup may have caused a lower volunteer rate within MAC. The call for volunteers will go out soon, and members are encouraged to volunteer.

New Business: As of January 2019, MAC will no longer use PayPal for membership dues and meeting registration. Instead, MAC will use Wild Apricot.

Discussion: MAC members outside of the MAC region cannot serve on committees or in leadership positions due to current policies. MAC members were invited to discuss this. A question was raised about how many members this would include, and Lynn Eades reported 10 members. Attendees were open to allowing these members to volunteer. Julie Silverman will post a ballot via Wild Apricot for members to officially vote on this issue in the next couple of weeks.

Julie Silverman presented the new logo for MAC and thanked the Communications Committee for working on its design.

## Presentation of Honors and Awards (Virginia Desouky)

MAC AHIP members were recognized, as well as AHIP counselors, Chapter Council Representatives, MLA Officers and Board members, new MAC members, and continuing members of Task Forces and Committees.

#### Retirees:

- Pat Weiss
- Rochelle Kramer
- Claire Meissner

#### Awards:

- Outstanding Health Sciences Library Paraprofessional Award Thelma Mack
- Marguerite Abel Service Recognition Award Elizabeth Moreton
- Professional excellence by a Health Sciences Librarian Alexandra Gomes
- Professional Excellence by a New Health Sciences Librarian Rebecca McCall

Virginia Desouky provided certificates for MAC committee chairs and members rotating off their committee responsibilities.

## **Introduction of New Officers (Wanda Whitney)**

Kate Flewelling was elected Chair-Elect, Layla Heimlich will continue as the MAC Treasurer, Jeff Coghill will serve as the MLA Chapter Council Representative, PJ Grier will serve as the Alternate MLA Chapter Council Representative, and Roger Russell will serve as the MAC Nominee to the MLA Nominating Committee.

## Scholarship and Raffles (Erin Latta and Beverly Murphy)

Three scholarships were awarded that will be funded, in part, by the Annual Meeting raffle:

- Brittni Ballard
- Lauren Wheeler
- Jordan Wrigley

## Research and Assessment Awards (Andrea Shipper)

The MAC Research and Assessment Grant was awarded to Mary White, Global Public Health Librarian at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Health Sciences Library. Her project, entitled "#WritingPapers: Learning about the Information

Work-Processes of Public Health Students", will use "visual methods and interview techniques [to] provide insights into a variety of public health students' workflows as they approach the task of conducting literature reviews, or 'writing papers'". The \$2000 grant funds will be used to provide incentives to study participants.

Awards for MAC 2018 Annual Meeting papers and posters were presented:

#### Posters:

- o 1st prize Emily Gorman and Catherine Staley, *Mortal or Moodle? In-Person* vs. Online Information Literacy Instruction in the Health Sciences
- Viewer's Choice Everly Brown and Shanell Stephens, We Want to Hear From You

#### Papers:

- Honorable mention Elizabeth Moreton, Artificial Intelligence in Systematic Reviews: Unchartered Waters for Librarians
- o 2<sup>nd</sup> prize Kathleen Phillip, *The Boutique Librarian & the Bedside Nurse: A Love Story*
- 1<sup>rd</sup> prize Jamie Conklin, Sarah Wright, Rebecca McCall, Nandita Mani, Elizabeth Moreton, Jennifer Walker, & Mary White, Minor Splash or Major Surge? Assessing the Impact of an Institutional License to Covidence

# 2019 Annual Meeting in Durham, NC (Julie Silverman)

The Annual Meeting for 2019 is scheduled for Durham, North Carolina. The exact date will be announced soon. The meeting will be tri-chaired by Mary Beth Schell, Lynn Eades, and Jana Schellinger.

## Adjournment: Tony Nguyen, 2018 - 2019 MAC Chair

The meeting and gavel were turned over to incoming Chair Tony Nguyen. The meeting was adjourned at 8:55 a.m.

Emily Hurst moved and Virginia Desouky seconded that we adjourn the meeting. Meeting was adjourned at 8:55 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Jamie Conklin, MAC Secretary